I just want to travel

I have always loved traveling. It doesn’t matter if it was two hours away to Hunstville, a change of location is always exhilarating to me. Not to mention going out of the state! Oh my gosh, you would think leaving Alabama meant leaving the country to me. I just love a change of pace. Different foods, new cities, a different culture, really anything I can be a total tourist at.

The last few years, I’ve had a major thirst for traveling. I want to go to Europe so bad. I’ve been stalking travel blogs for the last few years, living vicariously through twenty-somethings backpacking through Europe, staying it sketchy hostels. I want to go to Europe, and everywhere, literally, so bad. I will go anywhere any time I get. I’ve been pretty lucky and have gotten to travel generously over the US. Well, that’s an exaggeration because I haven’t been in the Midwest or to the West that much, but compared to some of my friends who have never left the Southeast, I’ve got it pretty good.

FINALLY, I have the oppurtunity to leave the country (I’ve been to Canada but that doesn’t count for me because I was born 10 minutes from the Canadian border.) I’m going to Jamaica for my senior trip. Now, Jamaica is not on the top of my list of countries to visit. It’s probably not even in my top 20, but it’s a beachy, tropical, foreign land, whose drinking age is 18. What’s not to love? And I finally have a passport! I’m so excited for Jamaica I could scream! This is just the beginning of what will be a travel filled life. I can not wait to study abroad in Germany for a semester junior year of college, and go all over Europe. Hopefully I’ll grace Europe with Europe with my presence before then, if not, Jamaica will have to fill my travel desires.

This time on Tuesday, I’ll be laying out on the Jamaican beaches, wearing a floppy hat, drinking a piña colada burning my fair skin. I couldn’t be more excited.

CAN NOT WAIT.

1 Comment

Filed under life, personal

One response to “I just want to travel

  1. Take every opportunity you can to travel wether it’s to another state or to another country. After 20 years in the military I have seen a lot of places, some I enjoyed some I didn’t but I can say, for me if it weren’t for the military, chances are I wouldn’t have seen most of those places. I love to travel as well and I have so many places on my bucket list still to go. I have been to Paris, it was nice but not everything the movies make it out to be. I will say the place I absolutely loved the most was Thailand. The people were the nicest I have ever met. Granted I worked 12 hrs a day and parted for 10 and slept for 2 for the 35 days I was there but it was worth it. I saw so much of the place. Some of the places there were just beautiful. Good luck in your travels, I wish you the best and hope you get to see every place you want to see.

Leave a Reply

