Send Me On My Way

The other night my dad asked me what I was thinking about for my future. My first thought is “Why the HECK do I have to know something will determine the REST of my life when I’m 17 years old?” I understand I don’t have to declare a major just yet, but honestly I don’t know how I’m going to a year from now either.

My dad knows of my love obsession for television shows and movies and basically told me that he was not going to pay for me to major in Journalism, Film Studies, or basically anything that has to do with what I want to do. How can he do that? Aren’t parents supposed to be supportive of their children’s dreams? I can’t comprehend why he would rather me get a job working a government job having something to do with German, being absolutely miserable, rather than doing what I’m passionate about? Money does not matter to me, but happiness does. Growing up and watching my parents has made me strive to be the very opposite of them. I don’t want to “play it safe” with my job and be a miserable person that dreads going to work. I want to look forward to working everyday. I don’t know exactly what I want to do, but I know I want to write or do something with television production/writing or anything along those lines. I know I can do it if I set my mind to it so why am I doubting myself now? My dad should be encouraging me to follow my dreams, not putting them down.

 

4 Comments

Filed under life, personal

4 responses to “Send Me On My Way

  1. Sara Katherine

    I understand your frustrations. Both of my parents are business majors and it freaked them out when I wanted a liberal arts degree. I’m working on a double major in Journalism and Political Science. Look and see if maybe your school has a professional writing program perhaps or think about PR. It gets your foot in the door for a corporate world but you can definitely transition into doing things that you like more. Remember, everything in life for jobs and majors really comes down to two things: Marketing and Networking. It’s all about who you know and how you sell yourself (skill set wise, I do not advocate prostitution). It’s all going to work out. If it’s your passion you’ll find a way.

    • See, that’s me exactly! There is no doubt I’ll be doing something in Liberal Arts. My dad will just have to deal. That sounds like an interesting major! What do you think you want to do with it?

      Hahahah, that’s so true! You are funny! Thanks so much for the comment. It made me feel good :)

      • Sara Katherine

        I want to eventually write for Time Magazine. Transition to a book one day after years of experience. And then, oh wait, she can do it all, and I’ll write a fiction book. Then, I’ll just be traveling and writing forever down the years:)

        Also, if I happened to replace Anderson Cooper on CNN I wouldn’t be mad.

      • I want to eventually write for Entertainment Weekly. Maybe after a couple years, start writing scripts for tv shows.
        I wouldn’t be mad if I ever was a producer or director. :) If only…

Leave a Reply

