Tyler Hilton

I found out that Tyler Hilton (you might know him as Chris Keller from One True Hill or you might just know him as the perfect man he is) was playing at a small little venue in my town this week and freaked out. I love him and was really confused as to 1) why I didn’t know why he was going to be here because I’m usually pretty up to date on that stuff and 2) why he was playing at this teeny, and I mean TEENY venue, because he is pretty well known. Anyways, it just so happened that I had to work that night. And not register or server as usual, but of course the first time I get scheduled on salads, I have a concert to go to. The problem with being on salads is, you can’t find anyone to work for you because there is technically one night shift salad girl right now, compared to being on register where you can get anyone to cover for you. So, I take the shift and try to get done as fast as I can. I finished closing about 15 minutes after we closed and I wish I could have videoed myself trying to get there because I was running around like a chicken with it’s head cut off. I knew Tyler as going to be on at about 9:30 and I made it after the first song. My friends had reserved our seats and we were smack-dad in the middle, front row. it was totally awesome. He is absolutely beautiful in person. I think what I liked most about him is how comfortable he was and how funny he is! He said this, and I agreed, that it felt like we were all just hanging out, not at a concert that we paid for.

I pretty much fan-girled over every single one of his songs. He did a cover of “Video Game” by Lana Del Ray and it was B-E-A-utiful. I didn’t like that song until he played it. The awesome thing at intimate shows like that is getting to meet the artist! He wasn’t taking pictures with people for some reason, I wouldn’t want to every single night on tour either, but he was signing things and having normal conversations with us. I thought that not taking a picture with him made it more real, like talking to a real live person. Which, obviously, every celebrity is but it doesn’t feel like that when the meet and greets are so structured and hectic.

Funny story: I was SO desperate to get to the concert that I said “Screw it!” and went in my works clothes. While I’m waiting my turn to talk to Tyler, his touring partner, Dion, made conversation about Newks. They ate there last time they were in Birmingham and loved it. It made for a good conversation. :)

 

Leave a comment

Filed under life, music, personal

Leave a Reply

