Sleep

A few years ago, me and my friend Abigail went to the beach for a long weekend in October. The house we were staying at had access to the roof, which was flat, from our room so we took advantage like most people would. It was such a beautiful night. We just sat out there and watched the stars and talked on the phone and had fun doing absolutely nothing. We somehow got the idea to bring the mattress onto the roof and sleep out there. It seemed like a good idea at the time. Keep in mind, this was in October. Yes, we were at the beach but it got freezing that night. Absolutely freezing. We tripled up on sleeping bags and blankets but the wind would blow them off of us and we would wake up shivering. The next morning we woke up at sunrise, which was absolutely gorgeous. Even though it was freezing that night, I thought sleeping out there was worth it. It was really cool to be outside in “nature” (obviously being on a roof is not nature but we were 50 yards from the beach and under the stars) but I started to doubt our decision when I realized I had weird bug bites EVERYWHERE. At first I thought they were mosquito bites but those buggers would not go away for a month! They were so itchy and I have scars from those bites. I’m not even kidding.

All in all, it’s fun to talk about now. That was a fun beach trip. That was such a good year. I miss it.

Leave a comment

Filed under life, personal, random

Leave a Reply

