Sunday Night Buttermilk Waltz

It’s weird how a song can make you recall so many specific memories. As I’m listening to Gone by The Black Crowes (Amorica, which might be my favorite album by them) I can remember exact feelings from 9th grade. When I close my eyes, I am fifteen-year old Brianna. But only for a minute.

I could feel pissed off, happy, sad, what have you, but when a memory-triggering song plays, I am engulfed in the feelings that come with that particular song. Ninth grade was such a great year. I became obsessed with the Black Crowes that year and I basically assosiate all of freshman year with them. Listening to the Black Crowes reminds me of halcyon days, how perfect I thought freshman year was, of my friends that I am no longer close with, of the simplicity of my life then, of the then senior I was infatuated with, and so many more things. When the memories swarm me, I am so happy. Once I realize what I’m feeling are three and some FOUR year old memories, it depresses me. But getting that reminder of those better days inspires me to make the best of today. And it reminds me that I need to listen to the Crowes more.

It’s crazy how music can affect me.

2 Comments

Filed under life, music

2 responses to “Sunday Night Buttermilk Waltz

  1. CKS

    Great post.

    I completely get that same kind of nostalgia (but obviously, senior year for me). I still remember August 2008… first weekend of the school year… I guess it was about the 23rd or 24th of August, I watched the movie Smokin’ Aces; the end credits popped up and “Play Your Cards Right” by Commin started playing. Not usually the type of music I listen to, but the song was stuck in my head for weeks. Lionel Richie’s original version as well as Faith No More’s cover version of “Easy Like Sunday Morning” reminds me of late September/early October 2008.

    Oh, wow, and this one I’m 100% sure you are familiar with: “I Got Mine” by The Black Keys. I first heard it in June 2008 and listened to it almost nonstop throughout the entirety of senior year.

    I absolutely hated the song “Don’t Trust Me” by that 3Oh3 ‘band’ (or however the hell you spell it) but it reminds me of December 2008.

    “In the Air Tonight” by Phil Collins reminds me of February 2009. I remember watching Super Bowl XLIII with a couple of friends, then singing the song on the way back home that night, and being hooked for the rest of the month.

    “Riders on the Storm” by The Doors reminds me of March 2009. The Rolling Stones’ “Gimmer Shelter” and Jimi Hendrix’s “Purple Haze”/”Voodoo Child”/”All Along the Watchtower” reminds me of April and May 2009.

    “Hard Luck Woman” and “Love Gun” by KISS, and “LA Woman” by The Doors, reminds me of graduation…… Friday, June 12, 2009.

    “But getting that reminder of those better days inspires me to make the best of today” — that’s a great mentality. I need to incorporate that same mindset, ’cause 2008 and 2009 were incredible years.

    Ahhhhh, alright, I’m blabbering on here. It’s like I come to your blog to reminisce over 2008-2009, haha. I’ll try to cut it out, I promise!

    • Brianna Gorman

      Thank you!

      I Got Mine…. I used to be OBSESSED with that song! I love the Black Keys. And what a coincidence about 3OH!3 or whatever… I loathed that song. I mean loathed. But it reminds me of the end of 2008 and beginning of 2009. And they are really good memories that cause that was an awesome year.

      Oh and nothing beats singing songs in the car with your friends. I love doing that. It’s so crazy how we can associate music with a certain time in our lives. But I can’t remember the simplest things like what I had for dinner two nights ago.

      ANNNND thanks for coming on here to blabber. I love it. I think you’re probably the only person who has been reading my blog so thank you for that! Come on here to reminisce as much as you please!

Leave a Reply

