People are good

I believe that people really are good. I volunteered at the Salvation Army Angel Tree Center and was overwhelmed at the amount of gifts people had donated. The warehouse was HUGE and filled with toys, clothes, bikes, and other gifts for kids that are not as fortunate as some. It was amazing that that many people in my town alone donated all of those things.

Working in that cold, damp, warehouse was not the first thing at the top of my list, but knowing that I am helping a poor little girl have a nice Christmas makes me feel really good. Community service is one of those things that is required for me but while I’m doing it, you couldn’t make me leave if you wanted to. I love volunteering. Helping people helps me. It opens my eyes to look past my small, rich little town and realize that everyone is not as fortunate as me, or the others around me.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under life, personal

Leave a Reply

